Beautiful When You Say So

Rolling along the same theme, here’s today’s continued take about standards and society.

“These pictures aren’t pictures of me – they’re constructions” – Cameron Russell, model by profession.

This talk was piece perfect. A beneficiary of the main social perspective herself, she stands up with so much bravery that she shuns the industry she’s part of and tells the world that she doesn’t tell little girls to be models like her. I was streaming through the comments and there was a lot of negativity, but I believe the point she was trying to make across was not that “Looks aren’t everything, AND the world sees past that”. No, that’s not her point. I perceived her point to be more of, “Looks aren’t everything, BUT the world is going to be that way.” I think her point about models being insecure themselves only implicitly details the sad truth about society’s necessity to constantly compare and point out flaws.

“You’re a goddamn treasure whether you believe it or not. And maybe that’s what everyone should start looking for.” – Savannah Brown, Slam Poet

Savannah Brown talks about exactly what I was talking about in my previous blog post. Insecurities everywhere, because of the people around us. “The only place we’ll ever really feel safe is curled up inside our skin which we’ve been forced to hate by a society which shuns our awful confidence and feed us our own flaws and sometimes when I need to meet the me that loves me, I can’t find her,” is part of her line in her monologue in this video. It’s beautiful, it’s so powerful, and it reiterates how I’m trying to convince myself that I’m damn right beautiful, just like every girl in her own way.

It’s not just a world where girls are pressured by society to be ‘skinny’ enough, no. It’s a world where you’re never perfect. When you’re really ‘skinny’ enough, people are going to ask you why you look like the wind can carry you away, or how you need to start eating.

I’ve thought about it so many times and me and my friend were actually talking about it today – about Meghan Trainor’s song All About That Bass. Honestly, I thought the song gave so much confidence for many girls to be able to respect their curvy bodies and to feel beautiful. But what about the part of the girl population who’re skinny? Not only does it explicitly refer to them as ‘skinny bitches’, but it also makes so many implicit remarks to her definition of beauty that’s being stressed on to be that of curvy. The song contains lyrics that suggest you need have any type of curves or the fact that “boys like a little more booty to hold at night” – can we just pause to think about the effect on girls who’re rather skinny? Because it doesn’t just stop with this song, no. I think the trend of the past few years has been focusing on the gluteus maximus. So, all the girls who were now “perfect” in terms of looking beautiful in society’s eyes are now magically not anymore. Because they’re skinny, but they don’t have the butt, do they?

Aisha Oxley, in this video, so beautifully talks about how she was skinny shammed.

So skinny or curvy or toned legs or not, when are we really going to be beautiful? What these three girls have taught me what I already know is that we’re going to be beautiful when we think so ourselves and we don’t need no Jack to convince us otherwise.

Leave a Reply

