Reliving Naiveté

Congrats! You’re the owner of a new time machine. The catch? It comes in two models, each traveling one way only: the past OR the future. Which do you choose, and why?

Hands down, a blast back into the past.

When I look back at those naïve memories stored in pictures of my childhood, I never not end up with a huge smile on my face. No matter how many times I look back at them, I feel the same nostalgia; a longing to go back to when it all started to a time of purity and beginnings. It’s not because I’m not happy with where I ended up today, because I’m absolutely grateful and proud. But more about, wishing to move into that innocent universe, where happiness is truly what all mattered.

Because even at this age, and older, people say happiness is truly all you need. But that doesn’t seem like its true in this seemingly grownup world. Money, status, materialistic items, demeanor, reputation, greed to grow, necessity to belong; all seem to matter as much. And while that’s how life is meant to go, I miss the old times.

The times when stealing cookies out of the cookie jar seemed like the biggest accomplishment.

The times when walking along the shore with your Mom was an everyday occurrence, not a brisk one on her birthday.

The times when hatred, jealousy or animosity for anyone or any circumstance was not a part of your dictionary.

It’s irony actually; the fact that I remember these times the least, yet they’re my favorite.

And that’s exactly why I’d love to relive them once again.

Leave a Reply

